Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) 

Readiness Assessment Services

24By7Security offers Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) readiness services for defense contractors.

We are a Registered Provider Organization for CMMC! RP(O) Combo Graphic Horizontal

24By7Security is named as a Registered Provider Organization (RPO) by the CMMC Accreditation Body (CMMC-AB).  We are trained and qualified to assist DoD suppliers with getting ready for certification on the CMMC model. We have multiple employees trained on CMMC and approved as Registered Practitioners (RP). 

Verify our CMMC RPO Status

CMMC Promo video 24By7Security


In upcoming months, the Department of Defense will require that all defense contractors and suppliers doing business with the DoD comply with CMMC standards. In response to increased and constantly evolving cyber threats, the Department of Defense has established this new security measure to protect Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI), Federal Contract Information (FCI), and other national security related sensitive data on systems and networks owned by defense contractors.  In late 2020, the DoD identified CMMC pilots, also called CMMC pathfinders, within different departments of the DoD.

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC V1.0) was released in January 2020. The CMMC model will supersede the previous Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement or DFARS 252.204-7012 requirement of cybersecurity self-certification, based on NIST SP 800-171. Instead, contractors will undergo a certification process based on review by an accredited third-party assessment organization.

The CMMC model has five levels.  

Our Services for CMMC Readiness

In order to remain qualified as a DoD contract bidder, we can assist you with the following pre-certification efforts:

  • Gap assessment between your current state and CMMC requirements
  • Development of Plan of Action and Milestones (POAM) and Corrective Action Plan (CAP) to address any gaps
  • Assistance with implementing changes needed, and tracking milestones against the POAM and CAP.
  • Policy and procedure preparation 
  • Vulnerability Assessments, Penetration Testing and other services as may be required

Get a head start and prepare for CMMC compliance with 24By7Security

The 24By7Security team is experienced in preparing organizations for cybersecurity audits, regulatory compliance, and certification readiness. Certification readiness and preparation are the most arduous part of the certification process. We can guide your organization through this process in the most efficient and cost-effective manner.



Schedule a Call

24By7 Security

Path to CMMC - Infographic from 24By7Security

Your Path to CMMC

Starting in November 2020 a number of select DoD RFPs will include a requirement that all bidding contractors must meet a minimum of Level 1 CMMC certification to qualify. These certification requirements will continue to be phased in over the next several years until it is a prerequisite to bid on any contract with DoD. The best way to comply with these requirements is to follow the path to CMMC as outlined in this diagram.  

1. Gap Assessment - We can help you identify the gap between your current state and the CMMC level you wish to meet.

2. Remediation - We can help you with preparing your Plan of Action and Milestones (POAM) and Corrective Action Plan (CAP) and in tracking your remediation activities and milestones. Remember that in order to achieve CMMC certification, all open items must be remediated.

3. Audit and Certification - This is when it's time to hire a C3PAO (Certified Third Party Assessment Organization), undergo and audit and work with the C3PAO to get certified in the desired level. 

4. Optimization - Once certified, you should plan to be on a path of continuous improvement and optimization of your operations.


24By7 Security

What are the 5 Levels of CMMC?

In time, all defense contractors will be required to achieve at minimum Level 1 certification.

There are five levels of maturity within the CMMC model, beginning with Level 1 (“Basic Cyber Hygiene”) and culminating with Level 5 (“Advanced/Progressive”). The levels are cumulative, meaning that organizations wishing to achieve a certain CMMC level must satisfy all requirements for the preceding levels. Failure to meet any single item required for a given level will result in an organization being certified at the level below it.

To reach any given level, organizations must satisfy the required processes and practices specified for that level.

According to Version 1 of CMMC, here’s what is required at each of the five levels:

  • Level 1 - Basic Cyber Hygiene: This level focuses on the protection of FCI and requires that organizations comply with the basic safeguarding requirements in 48 CFR 52.204-21. Process maturity is not assessed at this level.
  • Level 2 - Intermediate Cyber Hygiene: Level 2 is a transition step from protecting FCI to protecting CUI and is the first stage at which organizations must establish and document practices and policies to guide CMMC implementation. Organizations wishing to achieve Level 2 certification must comply with all requirements of Level 1 and a subset of the requirements in NIST SP 800-171.
  • Level 3 - Good Cyber Hygiene: Building on Level 2, Level 3 requires that organizations have a plan for ensuring practices are implemented and focuses on the protection of CUI. To achieve Level 3 certification, and organization must meet all of the security requirements of NIST SP 800-171 and other standards including DFARS clause 252.204-7012.
  • Level 4 - Proactive: In Level 4, organizations must review and measure the degree to which their practices are effective, and must put in place practices to protect CUI from advanced persistent threats (APTs). This involves compliance with Draft NIST SP 800-171B along with additional cybersecurity best practices.
  • Level 5 - Advanced/Progressive: Organizations that achieve Level 5 certification will have standardized and optimized process implementation across their organizations and put in place practices that increase the depth and sophistication of their protection from APTs.

CMMC Simplified - Interactive Infographic - Click and learn - 24By7Security

CMMC levels chart Recoloring 6.0